Neither are the souls of the pious dead separated from the Church which even now is the kingdom of Christ. Otherwise there would be no remembrance of them at the altar of God in the communication of the Body of Christ. -- Saint Augustine of Hippo from “The City of God

Monday, February 23, 2015

Doctors of the Church -- A List (Updated)

The following is an alphabetical list of the 36 "Doctors of the Church" of the Roman Catholic Church.

Before we get to the list, here is the definition of Doctor of the Church from "The Modern Catholic Dictionary" by Father John A. Hardon, S.J.:

DOCTOR OF THE CHURCH. A title given since the Middle Ages to certain saints whose writing or preaching is outstanding for guiding the faithful in all periods of the Church's history. Originally the Western Fathers of the Church, Gregory the Great, Ambrose, Augustine, and Jerome, were considered the great doctors of the Church. But the Church has officially added many more names to the original four.

The following are Doctors of the Church
  • Albert the Great
  • Alphonsus Maria de Liguori
  • Ambrose of Milan
  • Anselm of Canterbury
  • Anthony of Padua
  • Athanasius
  • Augustine of Hippo
  • Basil the Great
  • Bede the Venerable
  • Bernard of Clairvaux
  • Bonaventure
  • Catherine of Siena
  • Cyril of Alexandria
  • Cyril of Jerusalem
  • Ephrem of Syria
  • Francis of Sales
  • Gregory Nanzianzen
  • Gregory of Narek
  • Gregory the Great
  • Hilary of Poitiers
  • Hildegard von Bingen
  • Isidore
  • Jerome
  • John Chrystostom
  • John Damascene
  • John of Avila
  • John of the Cross
  • Lawrence of Brindisi
  • Leo the Great
  • Peter Canisius
  • Peter Chrysologus
  • Peter Damian
  • Robert Bellarmine
  • Teresa of Avila
  • Therese of Lisieux
  • Thomas Aquinas

Your donation helps me to be able to pay my bills, especially as I refuse to seek government assistance. Donate securely with PayPal. Thank you, and God bless you!

Tuesday, February 03, 2015

Recognition of the Martyrdom of Archbishop Oscar Romero, the friars Michal Tomaszek and Zbigniew Strazalkowski, and Father Alessandro Dordi

Vatican City, 3 February 2015 (VIS) – Today the Holy Father Francis received in a private audience Cardinal Angelo Amato, S.D.B., prefect of the Congregation for the Causes of Saints, during which he authorised the Congregation to promulgate the following decrees:


- Servant of God Oscar Arnulfo Romero Galdamez (El Salvador, 1917-1980), archbishop of San Salvador, El Salvador, killed in hatred of the faith on 24 March 1980.

- Servants of God Michal Tomaszek (Poland, 1960) and Zbigniew Strazalkowski (Poland, 1958), professed priests of the Order of Friars Minor Conventual, and Alessandro Dordi, Italian diocesan priest, killed in hatred of the faith in Peru on 9 and 25 August 1991.


- Servant of God Giovanni Bacile, Italian priest (1880-1941).

You can find more information at:
The news items contained in the Vatican Information Service may be used, in part or in their entirety, by quoting the source:
V.I.S. -Vatican Information Service.
Copyright © Vatican Information Service 00120 Vatican City

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...